Student musicians receive awards

The Lakeside Lutheran Music Department, led by Choir Director James Buege and Band Director Glen Pufahl, presented music awards for the 2015-2016 academic year to several student musicians at the recent Academic Awards Night at Lakeside Lutheran High School.

LLHS Music Awards 2016

The National School Choral Award® is the highest honor for high school choral performers. It recognizes the dedication and musical achievement of top choral students nationwide, and was awarded to senior Hannah Hoffman, daughter of Brian and Carrie Hoffman of Waterloo. A Gueldner Music Clinic scholarship was awarded to junior vocalist Mindy Meske, daughter of Jeff and Jayne Meske of Jefferson.

Several A Cappella Choir seniors received Exemplary Leadership awards from the choral department for their outstanding contributions to the choir and school. Recipients included primary piano accompanist Brittni Jegerlehner, daughter of AJ and Betty Jegerlehner, Sun Prairie; Becca Doering, daughter of Matt and Jill Doering, Lake Mills; Josh Schoenfeld, son of John and Lisa Schoenfeld, Lake Mills; David Wilson, son of Noreen Wilson, Pardeeville and James and Aimee Wilson, Brandon; Josiah Eaker, son of Tricia Eaker, Watertown; and Mark Hoeft, son of Steve and Amy Hoeft, Fort Atkinson. Eaker and Hoeft were recognized for perfect attendance in more than 40 events over their two-year tenure in A Cappella choir.

Outstanding Musicians are chosen by fellow band members in recognition for outstanding musical achievements, cooperation and dedication to the Lakeside Lutheran band program. 2016 recipients included senior saxophonist Hollie Doyle, daughter of Jeff and Heidi Doyle, Watertown; sophomore sax Ashley Fritz, daughter of Brian and Tiffany Fritz, Middleton;  senior baritonist Paul Grunewald, son of Michael and Kristen Grunewald, Bettendorf, Iowa; senior trumpeter Elias Lipasti, son of Mikko and Erica Lipasti, Lake Mills; senior hornist Lydia Ulrich, daughter of Rick and Tina Ulrich, Lake Mills; senior percussionist David Wilson, son of Noreen Wilson, Pardeeville and James and Aimee Wilson, Brandon; and sophomore trombonist Matthias Winters, son of Jim and Kimara Winters, Watertown.

The Louis Armstrong Jazz Award® was inaugurated in 1974 with the consent of his widow shortly after this great jazz artist died in 1971. It honors the outstanding jazz musician at each high school nationwide; this year’s award was presented to senior trumpeter Lipasti. The Woody Herman Jazz Award® was created in 1988, shortly after Herman’s death, also to honor outstanding jazz students, and was given to senior saxophonist Doyle.

Said to be the most prestigious band award given to a high school band member, the John Philip Sousa Band Award is given to recognize superior musicianship, dependability, loyalty, and cooperation, and was awarded to Lipasti.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s