Warrior musicians qualify for State Music Festival

Sixteen Class A entries from Lakeside Lutheran High School earned a starred first rating at the district level of the Wisconsin State Music Association (WSMA) Solo-Ensemble Festival. Starred first ratings in Class A, the highest level of music selection, qualify the musicians to perform at the WSMA State Festival at UW-Whitewater April 29.

Two large ensembles were among those advancing to the state festival, including the Lakeside Lutheran Percussion Ensemble and the Swing Choir. Two solos in piano, four vocal solos, as well as an F horn, an alto sax, a flute and a marimba solo advance. Three piano duets and a piano trio also earned a trip to state.

The Lakeside Lutheran Swing Choir also qualified for state. The choir includes back row from left, Maddie McKenna, Lake Mills; Mindy Meske, Jefferson; Jenna Gaal, Lake Mills; Jade Wood, Madison; Emma Guld, Lake Mills, Sophia Collins, Lake Mills; Maria Werre, Sun Prairie; Emily Weber, Helenville. Front, from left is Jacob Meyer, Sun Prairie; Derek Gulrud, Marshall; Skyler Christianson, Janesville; Luke Willems, Johnson Creek; Philip Treptow, Avalon; Noah Lorenz, Watertown; Andrew Burk, Johnson Creek; Kyle Burger, Lake Mills.
The solo, duet and trio state qualifiers from Lakeside Lutheran are back row, L-R: Griffin Torgerson, Watertown (piano duet, piano trio); Alyson Steffan, Lake Mills (vocal solo), Ashley Fritz, Middleton (Sax solo); Sophia Collins, Lake Mills (marimba solo); Matthias Winters, Watertown (piano duet, piano trio). Middle row, L-R: Cara McElroy, Madison (flute solo); Samantha Anderson, Sun Prairie (vocal solo); Maria Werre, Sun Prairie (2 vocal solos); Jamee Wohling, Beaver Dam (piano duet); Violet Dumke, Verona (piano duet). Front row, L-R: Fai Haw, Lake Mills (French horn solo); Tina Kehl, Waterloo (piano duet); Samantha Kohls, Waterloo (piano solo, piano trio); Riley Schulz, Fort Atkinson (piano duet).
The Lakeside Lutheran Percussion Ensemble qualified for the WSMA state festival. Members of the ensemble include back row, L-R: Mitchell Doyle, Watertown; Jonah Rupnow, Watertown; Ryan Preskar, Juneau; Benjamin Ertman, Fort Atkinson. Middle row, L-R: Trevor Geerdts, Windsor; Cody Gumz, Marshall; Aaron Natvig, Cottage Grove; J Doyle, DeForest; Annika Butzow, Janesville. Front row, L-R: Rachel Mayer, Fort Atkinson; Cara McElroy, Madison; Sophia Collins, Lake Mills; Jamee Wohling, Beaver Dam. Missing from photo are Javin Hollis and Justin Learned.

In addition to the 16 starred first entries, Lakeside Class A musicians were awarded four first ratings and 14 seconds, for a total of 34 Class A performances. In class B, Lakeside Lutheran had 18 entries. Of those, seven earned a first place rating and 11 earned a second rating. Four of the seven Class C entries from Lakeside earned a first rating while three received a second.

Overall, Lakeside had 59 solo or ensemble entries that involved more than 75 students. Poynette High School and Luther Prep School were the 2017 sites that hosted more than 650 entries from among 11 Capitol North Conference middle and high schools in late February.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s