History-making student teacher on campus

This quarter, Lakeside Lutheran is privileged to have student teacher Annalies Brander on campus. Mrs. Hirschfeld is mentoring Miss Brander in the Extended Learning Center this spring. Annalies, who is double majoring in Early Childhood Education and Special Education, is from Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

unnamed-2

She hadn’t considered special education until she worked at a Jesus Cares camp. “It was so rewarding,” she says. “So I started taking all the classes.”

Considering that she is majoring in early childhood education, she was surprised by how much she enjoys working with high schoolers. “I wasn’t fond of high schoolers when I was in high school, so I was terrified when I found out I’d be going to a high school,” she admits.

But the Lakeside students and her experience so far has changed her mind. “It’s going really well,” she says. She enjoys getting to know the students she works with in study hall. I love finding out “how I can best help them and how they can succeed.”

This means “I’ve had to relearn things, like pre-Algebra,” she says. “I also have to learn how to explain things in many different ways. What might make sense to me doesn’t make sense to someone else,” she says. “It’s taught me to be very, very flexible.”

Miss Brander is the first special education student teacher sent out by Martin Luther College and we couldn’t be happier that she is here! Be sure to stop by the ELC and welcome her!

 

Leave a Reply

