Student musicians receive recognition

The Lakeside Lutheran Music Department, led by Choir Director James Buege and Band Director Glen Pufahl, presented music awards for the 2016-2017 academic year to several student musicians at Academic Awards Night at Lakeside Lutheran High School.


Winning music awards recently at Lakeside Lutheran in Lake Mills were (back row, l-r) J Doyle, Luke Willems, Maddie McKenna, (middle) Mindy Meske, Derek Gulrud, Jamee Wohling, Tina Kehl, Hannah Mayer. (front) Ashley Fritz, Joe Grambsch, Cara McElroy. (not pictured) Matthias Winters, Bethany Mahnke, Adam Peters.


The National School Choral Award® is the highest honor for high school choral performers. It recognizes the dedication and musical achievement of top choral students nationwide, and was awarded to senior Derek Gulrud, daughter of Cody and Nidia Gulrud of Marshall. A Gueldner Music Clinic scholarship was awarded to junior vocalist Hannah Mayer, daughter of Dale and Sandra Mayer of Fort Atkinson.

Four A Cappella Choir seniors received Outstanding Vocalist awards: Luke Willems, son of Drew and Heidi Willems, Johnson Creek; Cara McElroy, daughter of Stewart and Robin McElroy, Madison; Mindy Meske, daughter of Jeff and Jayne Meske, Jefferson, and Maddie McKenna, daughter of Sam and Missy McKenna, Lake Mills. Two received Senior Accompanist awards: Bethany Mahnke, daughter of Mike and Latonia Mahnke, Sun Prairie, and Jamee Wohling, daughter of Scott and Dawn Wohling of Beaver Dam. Adam Peters, son of Jeff and Pam Peters, Watertown, was recognized for perfect attendance in more than 40 events over his two-year A Cappella tenure.

Outstanding Musicians are chosen by fellow band members in recognition for outstanding musical achievements, cooperation, and dedication to the Lakeside Lutheran band program. 2017 recipients include Ashley Fritz, daughter of Brian and Tiffany Fritz, Middleton; Jamee Wohling; J Doyle, son of Jack and Julie Doyle, DeForest; Luke Willems; Cara McElroy; Joseph Grambsch, son of Chad and Rachel Grambsch, Columbus; Tina Kehl, daughter of Paul and Kristine Kehl, Waterloo; and Matthias Winters, son of Jim and Kimara Winters, Watertown.

The Louis Armstrong Jazz Award® was inaugurated in 1974 with the consent of his widow shortly after this great jazz artist died in 1971. It honors the outstanding jazz musician at each high school nationwide; this year’s award was presented to Joseph Grambsch. The Woody Herman Jazz Award® was created in 1988, shortly after Herman’s death, also to honor outstanding jazz students, and was given to Ashley Fritz.

Said to be the most prestigious band award given to a high school band member, the John Philip Sousa Band Award is given to recognize superior musicianship, dependability, loyalty, and cooperation, and was awarded to Jamee Wohling.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s