Sons of the American Legion awards scholarships


Matt Christian from the Lake Mills Sons of the American Legion Squadron #67 presented scholarships to Kalandria Madrid of Watertown and Abigail Hackbarth of Lake Mills at the recent Academic Awards Night at Lakeside Lutheran High School. Founded in 1932, Sons of The American Legion exists to honor the service and sacrifice of Legionnaires.


Melcher, Voigt awarded LLHS FFA Alumni scholarship

SONY DSC​Seniors Melissa Melcher, daughter of Thomas Melcher of Watertown, and Nicholas Voigt, son of Kevin and Amy Voigt of Juneau, were awarded Lakeside Lutheran FFA Alumni Scholarships at the recent Academic Awards Night at Lakeside Lutheran High School. They were awarded scholarships based on academic performance, FFA involvement and leadership, and their intent to continue education in an agriculture-related field. The awards, $300 and $700 respectively, were presented by Kevin Voigt (leftmost) and Mark Cichanofsky, both LLHS alumni.

The LLHS FFA Alumni group works to support, preserve, and enhance the Lakeside Lutheran FFA Chapter, and assist with its positive impact in the larger community. For more information about the LLHS FFA Alumni, contact Tech and Career Education adviser Jeff Meske at 920-648-2321.

New inductees to National Honor Society

Lakeside Lutheran High School has announced the 2017 inductees to its National Honor Society Chapter. The National Honor Society is dedicated to the development of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. NHS members plan and perform various service and leadership activities throughout the school year. Students are first eligible for selection at the end of the sophomore year. Candidates need a cumulative GPA of 3.6 or higher, demonstrated leadership roles, several hours of community service, and character references. A 5-member faculty council determines membership.

This year’s inductees are from the classes of 2018 and 2019.


(Front, from left) Gracie Hillier, Sun Prairie; Alexis Genthe, Lake Mills; Rebecca Lang, Lake Mills; Olivia Andress, Oconomowoc; Violet Dumke, Verona; Kaitlyn Drewicz, Watertown; Grace Krieser, Stoughton.

(second row) Olivia Fregien, Madison; Olivia Kassulke, Watertown; Caitlin Condon, Watertown; Sophia Griffin, Lodi; Grace Loescher, Watertown;  Alyssa Fehrman, Juneau; Margaret Cody, Juneau;

(third row) Madelaine Triebold, Oconomowoc; Rachel Poyner, DeForest; Maxwell Thiele, Oconomowoc; Caleb Kuepers, Madison; Cole Lauersdorf, Oconomowoc; Jack Monis, Oconomowoc; Ben Grambsch, Columbus.

(fourth row) Taylor Wolfram, Fort Atkinson; Brevin Jegerlehner, Sun Prairie; Carter Buchta, Ixonia; Will DeNoyer, Sun Prairie; Lukas Heckmann, Middleton; Peter Zambo, Lake Mills.

(fifth row) Jacob Ulrich, Lake Mills; Janelle Arndt, Watertown; William Bushie, Watertown; Tyler Holzhueter, Waterloo; Lucas Schneider, Waterloo; Ethan Neumann, Oconomowoc; Chad Nolte, Janesville.

(back row) Kaitlyn Shadoski, Janesville; Abigail Buxa, Oconomowoc;  Jackson Stake, Stoughton; Luke Marti, Oconomowoc; Olivia Turke, Oconomowoc; Emily Meske, Jefferson; Anna Swenson, Beaver Dam.

(Not pictured: Samantha Anderson, Sun Prairie; Riley Schulz, Fort Atkinson; Isac Veers, Cross Plains; J Doyle, DeForest; Katharina Schleef, Watertown.)

Voigt awarded Watertown Agri-business Club Scholarship


Nicholas Voigt, son of Kevin and Amy Voigt of Juneau, was awarded a $500 Watertown Agri-business Club Scholarship, presented by Dave Brock at the recent Academic Awards Night held at Lakeside Lutheran High School. Students are eligible to receive the scholarship after participating at the annual June Dairy breakfast. Voigt has been an active member of the Lakeside Lutheran FFA chapter; he plans to attend Fox Valley Technical College for an associates’ degree in Agriculture Power Equipment.

Drevlow awarded Muehrcke Foundation Scholarship


Senior Rekha Drevlow, daughter of Steve Drevlow, Lake Mills, and Meena Vyas, Madison, was awarded a renewable $7,000.00 Robert Muehrcke Foundation Scholarly Athlete Award at the recent Academic Awards Night at Lakeside Lutheran High School.

Drevlow was awarded the scholarship based on her eligibility by maintaining a minimum 3.5 GPA, participating on a sports team her senior year, submitting a letter of recommendation and planning to major at a four-year, college undergraduate program in medicine. Drevlow is a 3.7 GPA scholar, placing 11th in her class. Her senior year, she played volleyball and was named to first-team All-Conference in the Capitol North; she was also voted MVP by her team. She will attend Concordia–Mequon to study pre-med or nursing.


Cichanofsky awarded Robert G. Handeyside Scholarship


Lakeside Lutheran Senior Elizabeth Cichanofsky, daughter of Mike and Shelly Cichanofsky, of Watertown, was awarded the Handeyside Memorial Scholarship, which is funded and supported by the Fort HealthCare Medical Staff. The award was created by Dr. Robert Handeyside, a doctor at Fort Hospital for many years, and continued by his family when he became terminally ill. It was important to him to financially support students who were seeking careers in the health field.

The scholarship is given to students who display an interest in the health field, leadership qualities, scholastic achievement, and excellent moral character. Cichanofsky has a grade point of 3.91 and is ranked seventh in her class. She will attend Carroll University to receive a Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science and a Doctorate in Physical Therapy.

Hackbarth awarded Rotary scholarship

SONY DSCAbigail Hackbarth, daughter of Todd and Donna Hackbarth of Lake Mills, was awarded a Lake Mills Rotary Scholarship at the recent Academic Awards Night at Lakeside Lutheran High School. The $1000.00 award was presented to Hackbarth by Steve Wilke of the Lake Mills Rotary Club.

Hackbarth was awarded the scholarship based on her academic success as well as character, leadership, and participation during her high school years, and her essay on the value of Rotary in the community and her future plans regarding community service. She plans to attend Wisconsin Lutheran College, Milwaukee, to pursue a career in nursing.

According to Rotary International, Rotary Clubs are committed to service, fellowship, diversity, integrity, and leadership. Supporting education is one of the six top priorities of Rotary, along with promoting peace, fighting disease, providing clean water, saving mothers and children, and growing local economies. The scholarships are funded primarily through the annual Scholarship Brunch offered to the public each February.